Day 6 Writing 101 Assignment

I am trying to catch up on my assignments I am a bit behind but here’s assignment 6. Who’s the most interesting person (or people) you’ve met this year?

Our stories are inevitably linked to the people around us. We are social creatures: from the family members and friends who’ve known us since childhood, to the coworkers, service providers, and strangers who populate our world (and, at times, leave an unexpected mark on us).

Today, write a post focusing on one — or more — of the people that have recently entered your life, and tell us how your narratives intersected. It can be your new partner, your newborn child, or the friendly barista whose real story you’d love to learn (or imagine), or any other person you’ve met for the first time in the past year.

Today’s twist: Turn your post into a character study.

I walked up to the front door and and rang the doorbell as I did I felt a little panic come over me. Was I in the right place? I wasn’t quite sure, but I had managed to track down Gina. The recipient of the the note I had found in the park. I was a Owner of a bakery called Kellys Cakes. I had been out for my morning jog. On a cool Spring morning before going into work. As I was jogging down the dirt path I was had came to a bench. Under the bench near a small patch of green grass was a piece of lined paper that had been folded in half.
I walked over picked up the paper and unfolded it. It was a hand witten note. The writting was a bit sloppy I could tell it had been written very quickly.

It read:

Gina,
I found your grandmothers wedding ring by the phone before I got on the plane the address to the hotel is 187 willow bird road. I know with all that’s going on you may forget the address so put this in your wallet so you know the right place

Love,
Jim
P.S. I can’t wait till the wedding in Paris.

Since I owned a bakery I had delivered wedding cakes to hotels in the area before. I knew I had seen that address but I wasn’t sure of the name of the hotel. When I had arrived at work I went into my office and shut the door behind me. I opened the desk drawer pulled out a file and opened it in the file was the names and addresses of the hotels I had delivered cakes to. I looked down the list for 187  Willow Bird Road.

The Manager Cassandra and I had become good friends. I picked up the phone and spoke with Cassandra. I asked her if there had been a guest by the name of Gina or Jim that had stayed on September 21st. I explained to her about the note. Cassandra said yes there had been and the ring was still in the safe.  Gina only lived in 2 towns over about an hour from the bakery. I told Cassandra that I really wanted to be the one to return the ring.

So there I was finally going to meet the women who had forgotten the ring at the hotel. the front door was red and had frosted window panes that had little flowers on them. The yard was very pretty a white picket fence that stood about 4 feet high with rose bushes that stood behind them. That were slight sticking through the front of the fence.

I could a blurred image approaching the door. It looked like a women by the delicate way she walked. She had brown shoulder length hair I wondered if the women was Gina. The door opened The women was about 5’3 and was wearing Blue jean shorts a teal V neck tank top with white lace trim at the bottom her eyes were a very soft brown and she had a beautiful golen tan. In a very soft sweet voice the women said “May I help you ”  and I responded “Yes my name is Kelly and I was given this address by Willow Bird Hotel” I explained who I was and how I had founds Jims note. she squealed with joy  “Yes my name is Gina”  and said in a very excited high pitched voice said “Come in, come in, I really thought I’d never see my ring again”.

I stepped into the house into a wide hallway the walls were a soft blue with White molding at the top of the walls. On the wall was a picture of Gina and a man I assumed to be Jim. Below the picture was a small White round table that had keys some envelopes and  a vase of flowers. as I walked beside Gina down the hallway she turned to me and said “Jim is in the kitchen eating lunch, ya wanna join us” I hadn’t eating anything since the coffee and breakfast wrap that morning so I said “Yes that would be great”.  As we walked into the kitchen I seen a the back of man sitting in a tan colored chair at a wooden table. The man had a tablet in his hand a looked to be reading something.  Without turning he asked in a very deep voice “Gina my love who was at the door” I looked at her and smiled. She said in and excited voice “Jim this is Kelly and she has returned the ring”. Jim brisky Stood up from his chair and turned to face us. He looked to be about 5’9 had short black hair  was wearing a Blue cargo shorts and a red t-shirt with Black letters that said Keep Calm The Walking Deads Only on a break and I knew from that point Gina Jim and I would become great friends.

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 2,091 hits

Gravatar

mommymakeandmore

mommymakeandmore

I am a Stay at home mom of 2 My son is 6 and my daughter is 4 and I have been with the love of my life for 10 years now.

View Full Profile →

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow mommymakeandmore on WordPress.com
